Chesapeake Reading Council
Chesapeake, Virginia

Membership for 2018-2019 

will open August 1st!


$30.00 - Professional Membership 

$20.00 - Student/Paraprofessional/Retired Membership

New and Renewing members should go to and click on the "Membership" and "Become A Member" tabs.  Fill in all information, pay, and click SUBMIT to complete your membership.

Remember to hit the "SUBMIT" button.

We're looking forward to a wonderful year with VSRA and CRC! Remember that membership with VSRA gives you a discount for the annual conference that will be held in Richmond, Virginia on March 8-10, 2018, as well as a copy of our journal, Reading in Virginia.

If you have any questions about CRC membership, please
contact Vicki Mayfield at
she will be glad to assist you.

Benefits of Membership

Why Should You Join Chesapeake Reading Council?



Promote Literacy

  • Promote literacy in Chesapeake through a variety of events in the schools such as Reading Month, Young Writers, and Literacy Jam
  • Promote literacy in Chesapeake through a variety of events open to the public such as Family Literacy Night, the Baby Fair, and “Reading Under the Stars”
  • Advocate for legislation that supports literacy

Celebrate those who Promote Literacy

  • Chesapeake Reading Teachers of the Year
  • James D. Mullins Award
  • CRC Building Representative of the Month
  • CRC Member of the Quarter
  • Literacy Awards

Professional Organization

  • Automatic membership in the Virginia State Reading Association (VSRA)
  • Option to join the International Literacy Association (ILA)
  • Professional development opportunities
  • Work with others who share your passion for promoting literacy
  • Access to a network of resources
  • Opportunity to attend the Virginia State Reading Conference

Members are Eligible for:

  • Undergraduate Scholarship (recipient must be a member or relative of a member)
  • Graduate Scholarship
  • VSRA Conference Fee Scholarship
  • CRC Banquet Discount
  • Grants
  • Reading Teacher of the Year
  • James D. Mullins Award (administrator)