Follow Us On:
Chesapeake Reading Council

Virginia State Reading Association’s Chesapeake Chapter

Chesapeake, Virginia

Please Submit the Form Below to
Nominate Your School's RTOY!
The electronic form below will automatically be emailed to the board. If you're having any troubles submitting or would prefer a paper nomination form it is also available below and can be ponied to Kristin Garman @ Carver Intermediate. However, if submitting via pony, please make sure we will receive the submission BEFORE October 26, 2018.

Document Library

DocumentReading Teacher of the Year Nomination FormSubmit this form to nominate a teacher that has been instrumental in promoting literacy at your school
Chesapeake's RTOY 2017-2018
Debra Moyer, English teacher at Great Bridge Middle, has been selected as the Chesapeake Reading Teacher of the Year.  Mrs. Moyer strives for every student to be successful and started this year by promoting literacy with a 40 Book Challenge.  She has written a grant to incorporate narrative nonfiction books in her literature circles and continues to grow her classroom library.  In addition to promoting literacy in her middle school classroom, Mrs. Moyer has been involved with the Tidewater Writing Project, the Creative Writing Club, and the GBM Debate team.  She was also a recipient of a CRC Literacy Award and was published in The Journal of the Virginia Writing Project.  Mrs. Moyer's dedication to her students and their success in literacy is remarkable! (picture left to right: Stephanie Agricola, Kristin Garman, Debra Moyer, Laura Labyak)